Posted by: bipolarmystic | June 9, 2010

Intuitive Empathy: An Explanation for some Bipolar Individuals?

As an individual with Bipolar, I am continually fascinated by the scientific work being done to learn more about Bipolar.  Unfortunately, most of what we know about Bipolar and mental illness remains speculative.  Could there be more to the story than a different kind of brain?  Is this different brain designed by God/dess for more than madness – in fact for a kind of emotional brilliance?  Is there in fact a purpose to our illness that few could guess at?  Could there be other, little known but effective ways of managing Bipolar for some individuals?  Recently I ran across an article that piqued my interest.  The article discussed intuitive empathy as an explanation for some people who are diagnosed as Bipolar.  An excerpt of the article (http://www.paranominal.com/parapsychology/18603/the-bipolar-empath.html) reads:

“The most common psychiatric diagnosis among those with extraordinary empathic skills is Bipolar Disorder. Also known as manic depression, manic-depressive disorder and bipolar affective disorder, this diagnosis describes a category of mood disorders. In the case of many empaths, there are presences of a multitude of episodes of abnormally elevated mood throughout their lives. Moods bounce back and forth from major depression to times of mania or experience both emotions simultaneously. Episodes of one mood or another can last days, months, even years at a time. In extreme cases, empaths can experience psychotic symptoms such as delusions and hallucinations. Depressive episodes are associated with distress and disruption leading to elevated risk of suicide. Manic episodes are associated with creativity, goal striving and positive achievements, though usually acted out without forethought or logical thinking.

Empaths tend to have mild to severe bipolar disorders throughout childhood and adulthood. Periods of heightened emotional stress can accelerate the disorder as well as increases in empathic sensitivity. Increased empathic sensitivity can lead to stronger and more frequent episodes just as periods of heightened emotional stress can increase empathic sensitivity. While this disorder may always be an underlying part of the empath, there are treatments that can help bring the disorder into varying levels of control. Treatments include psychological based behavior therapy and stress management and psychiatric based medicative treatments. Empaths are encouraged to meditate on their empathic skill as a means to focus their transmission and reception of emotions as to spare themselves and others of unnecessary additional stress. Some empaths may find control through meditation via attempting to narrow the reception/transmission channel that they use to send and receive emotional packages of information. Ignoring a condition such as bipolar disorder will only lead to increased complications, sensitivity and frequency of episodes.”

At the time I came across the article I had already been reading about Intuitive Empathy in the book Positive Energy by Judith Orloff and was researching any possible link between the phenomenon of empathy and bipolar disorder.  In her book, Dr. Orloff (a psychiatrist who uses energy medicine as part of her practice) published the following quiz:

Am I An Intuitive Empath:

-Have I been labeled as overly sensitive?
-If a friend is distraught or in physical pain, do I start feeling it to?
-Am I drained in crowds, going out of my way to avoid them?
-Do I get anxious in packed elevators, airplanes, or subways?
-Am I hypersensitive to noise, scents, or excessive talking?
-When I see gruesome newscasts, does my energy plummet?
-Do I get burned out by groups, require lots of time alone to revive?

I personally answer yes to every criteria.  Bipolar individuals are typically somewhat to extremely sensitive individuals, and some scientists speculate our disorder could be related in some ways to Autism spectrum disorders, where the classical symptoms include extreme hypersensitivity and sensory overload.  Are some Bipolar individuals responding on some level to emotional overload?  Of course, this is all speculation and perhaps more speculative to some individuals than what few definitive things science has to say about Bipolar Disorder.  However, the beauty of this speculation is that it leads to some interesting possibilities for how we view the evolutionary and spiritual significance of Bipolar and mental illness, and for complementary treatments to the usual medication/therapy/supplements.  I recently read the latest book by Temple Grandin, an autistic woman who has achieved great success in her life designing equipment for livestock containment and processing.  In her book, Grandin discusses the gifts of autism and speculates that while the rest of the prehuman tribe were banging rocks together, it was the autistic mind that saw the design for the arrowhead locked within the rock (Grandin also has a strong belief in God).  In essence she speculates that autism and in drawing my own conclusions, perhaps other forms of mental illness may serve a purpose we cannot possibly fathom through all the scientific inquiry in the world.  A purpose that requires a leap of faith, sure.  In my own life I have been blessed with occasions on which intuitive empathy did serve a purpose.  I have the ability to sense things about people, even people I’ve just met, that can be of great service.  Dr. Orloff, an intuitive empath herself, uses her skills to deepen her abilities to help her patients.  Imagine walking into a psychiatrists’ office and having him or her be able to sense or see where your problems are before you even say a word?  Imagine this person applying her skills to help you in your life…how much faster that process would be!  Little need for the exhaustive questionnaires filled out, the hours spent trying to pinpoint problems!

Of course the flip side of this coin is picking up on everybody’s energy all the time, which not surprisingly, pretty much makes you crazy.  If there is a connection between Bipolar and Intuitive Empathy, new treatments are needed that involve meditation techniques used to shield empaths from emotional and energetic overload.  Dr. Orloff’s book is an excellent resource, containing many meditations, prayers and techniques to live a centered life, empath or not, Bipolar or not.  Incidently, science has shown us that meditation, prayer and even hands on healing are very real phenomenons.  Dr. Oz from the Oprah show uses hands on healers on his patients before and after surgery and has reported faster healing times.  Prayer and distant healing now have good studies showing efficacy.  These ideas are becoming mainstream because they work.  Is it any coincidence that every religion on earth seems to have it’s own form of meditative practice (whether prayer, Buddhist mantras, whatever).  I personally believe there is a purpose to my disorder, and that God/dess has allowed me to come into being through evolution into this body with it’s particular properties for a reason.   

Some final thoughts on this subject: I was pretty darn happy as a small child.  In fact I would say I was blissful.  When did this all come to a screeching halt?  Many things contributed to it, some of which I will not be getting into.  One of the things, which if you are not bipolar, or not sensitive, you won’t understand, was nursery school.  One day I found myself plopped down amongst unfamiliar energy, unfamiliar emotions and it was way, way too much for me.  My mother tells me I would sit by myself in the corner (sounds a bit like autism, eh?).  I was experiencing a terrible, painful overload.  What human being wants to sit alone in a corner and not be amongst others?  This is the pain many Bipolar people continue to suffer, perhaps needlessly in some cases (meditatative techniques help make my life a lot more liveable even in groups). 

No matter what science can tell us about Bipolar and mental illness, there is one question science will never be able to answer, and that is the spiritual question of why we are made this way. 

-J

Responses

  1. Excellent article….thank-you

  2. debra

    what a brilliant post and thought. this could be a whole study, a significant opus, this thought alone. please look at developing it deeper

    robert

    • Why thank you, I’m no scholar by any means and I’m not sure where I would get more information on the topic, however I do have the advantage of working as a librarian. I hope to continue reading and researching on the subject.

      -J

  3. Very interesting and speaking from my life experience, very true. I would be interested to hear more.

  4. I couldn’t believe I found this blog. I am doing research on intuituve and then found the Empath. I was so happy. I have bipolar and I knew that I’m high sensitive person. I can sense things and know when things are going to happen just by reading people. I can’t take loud noises are crowds. When I first meet a person I know instantly that I don’t want to get to know them. Even online. There are other characteristics and I just thought I was more crazy but now I know it’s a gift. I’ve learned how to use my intuition. I knew there was something about me that was different. I also have ADHD. So now I know who I am. I’m 58 and just figuring this all out. Thank you for your blog.

    • I am 37 year old. Diagnosed with bipolar as an adult and I can’t remember NOT experiencing this. I have felt burdened with these feelings my whole life. Today I found out who I am. I’m an empath. It’s almost as if this was written about me perfectly.

  5. I do believe you. I was also diagnosed with bipolar and that I’m highly sensitive myself. I do believe I get information overload, but I was able to analyze them and understand the meaning of things much better. Much of the things that didn’t make sense, which others call delusions, were actually premonitions because they either happened or had connection with what actually happened. There are many things that I can get into great detail and depth, but I don’t exactly know how to express them to others at this point. I just keep a journal to myself. But great blog, thanks.

  6. Your blog post is very helpful. I especially like the suggestion of using meditative techniques to focus or even block out emotional responses. I posted it on Tumblr. Do you have any other book or article recommendations?

    Thanks for writing!

  7. I’m the same. I’m an Empath to and I can say yes to all of the above.

  8. I am 42 and have scheduled a appt with psychiatrist for Friday, I have been balancing my house of cards and recently felt like they have all fell down and into the ocean. I have always been very sensitive to others feelings, emotions and energy. I can read a person after spending time with them and feel their emotions. It can be very exhausting, I call it mental exhaustion. I started having overload of dreams at age 30( as a child and young adult had vivid dreams), sometimes visiting other places and other times working my regular routine in the house. I often felt as though I spent much of the night pushed up against the wall near the ceiling. I researched this and believe that I am able to astral travel, my spirit energy releases from my body at night. Unfortunately, I had a hard time focusing and staying awake during the day. I had been finishing my OTA degree and kept up with 3 children. I went to my MD, he said ” sounds to me that you are not getting enough or REM sleep” I did not tell him anything about feeling like I was coming out of my body(did not want him to think I was crazy). He gave me meds to sleep, moved to NC and continued to have extreme mental fatigue, displayed as generalized anxiety per MD. She put me on Effexor. Today at 42, I know myself but still learning. I took a management job with rehab services 2 years previously, MD placed me on Vyvansse to help my brain focus secondary to ADD Dx and difficulty staying on one task which includes reports, computer schedules and completing important deadlines.
    I do feel all the meds have placed layers of fabric on my ability to move and absorb the higher dimension. Positive notes in regards to this ability, I often felt energies of loved ones that had passed on. At times, they would visit my spirit when I was sleeping. I could receive information, the birth of my daughter who was born with a brain tumor and had significant needs following birth, she was in neonatal for 2.5mths. I feel the holy spirit/spirit guide/ guardian angel( whatever you believe) let me know that I would have a child that would be born with difficulties and need the help of others after delivery. I was to stay strong and know that this has been planned for my life.

    I am tired now, but have so much more understanding of myself and others. I don’t believe that I am bi-polar or unstable, I believe that I am empathic and intuitive individual. I am just exhausted and writing on this discussion group is actually very therapeutic.

    thank you to all, seek the truth and that will bring happiness.

    Tricia Robinson North Carolina

  9. Long time bi-polar, I’ve experienced many things over my lifetime that much of the time I’ve been afraid to express. I know I am far more sensitive than other people, generally speaking, I’m very aware of the feelings, body language, and even sometimes I know what is going to happen prior to the event. I have a bi-polar family that goes along with this, and they are equally as sensitive, one far too much that he has reached to drugs and alcohol to try and avoid pain. I’ve reached out to the pain, the fear, and try to stay on top of my feelings: are they mine or someone else’s feelings. I do believe that bi-polar is misunderstood, or certainly reported in a negative sense in most news articles, which continues the stigma. Being different is a challenge, and I would agree from experience that you are onto something when you meld the bi-polar and the empathy. But it’s far more than that, it’s something we can use if we can control it and by understanding the components such as sensitivity and the depression, and the mania. I’ve been writing a blog, “The bi-polar American” by Laura Hart for a few years now, and I wanted it to be personal, truthful, and surrounding the issues of bi-polar. I don’t want to hear anymore about the deficiencies of this supposed “disorder” I want to use it for all it’s worth. Empathy is a wonderful talent, as there are so many out there who are much more narcissistic, self centered. Imagine the infinite number of things you can do being bi-polar? How many bi-polars does it take to change the world? Well, we’ve seen enough to make us believers such as Leonardo Da Vinci, Edgar Allen Poe, creative types who have what it takes to see past the ordinary and into the infinite.
    I look forward to hearing more on your topic and if you have some time, please visit my site: http://www.bipolarAmerican.blogspot.com/
    Add any material you would like, I have readers that may not have come across your site and who may want to get there.
    If you are okay with it, I would like to put your link up. I’m collecting sites that have something other than NAMI an angle that is encouraging and different.
    Take care.

  10. Great article, well written and very interesting.

  11. […] Working on Spiritual and Personal Growth is wonderful when our guides and angels are made known to us. Suddenly I feel tremendously supported in life- I’ve never been alone, even in those moments of intense darkness, when I felt my soul was dying. I now know the spirits of my Grandfather and Grandmother have been with me through these times. I have often felt them around me, but never believed it. I always thought it was my imagination. Thanks to my teacher and some of the other mediums I work with, I now know it to be true and am starting to believe that I am intuitive and perhaps an empath (lovely article here on The Bipolar Mystic). […]

  12. I can relate so much to this.

  13. I really appreciate this article. I read years ago in a book by Miriam Makeeba that her Mom,
    Would have these episodes where what we label schizophrenia, and in fact were treated very different. Everything you said makes sense. Thanks so very much

  14. the mention of being a blissful child that suddenly needs to hide under things, that really hit home for me. every picture i have of me being 6 or younger, there wasn’t a way to make me happier, i was the definition of blissful. but then when i turned 7 and understood my parent’s sudden death etc i began hiding under tables, under chairs, anywhere to escape. i’m almost 23 now and i still have strong urges to hide under things and my lovers tell me i try to burrow beneath them in my sleep. i was diagnosed as bipolar i with psychotic episodes and audio hallucinations when i was 14.

    • Hi V,

      Unfortunately the theme of childhood trauma is all too common in folks that have bipolar disorder. Your circumstances sound particularly traumatic. I have occasionally “hidden” or slept in the closet as an adult when things felt overwhelming. I also like the weight of many blankets on my body at night. Do you have any sensory issues? My sensory issues make me want to escape even now!

      Joanna

  15. Great article.i’ve also been suffering from bipolar.meditation helps me a lot being an introverted seeker

  16. My moods seem to be determined by the energy I am in. I have a hard time telling the difference between good and bad energy. I do have symptoms like wanting to run away and get out or binge eating if it is bad energy. If if is good energy I feel the love I am happy funny and charismatic. Has anyone gone on Meds for bipolar? I am afraid to. I have had my whole life change in the past year, I’ve lost over 100 lbs and people treat me much different but since the weight loss I have severe ups and downs. My intution and perception have grown VERY strong to a point where it is driving me crazy because I see things people do not see. If anyone has any experience on medication please let me know!

    • Congratulations on the weight loss that is huge! Do you have any tips? I am working on losing some weight myself right now 🙂 I got rather ill with respiratory issues over the holidays this year so I was just eating whatever made me feel better thinking I could always take it off later. Not the best idea ever! I am taking it off but it was so not worth it lol. As for good and bad energy – I can find both in high doses to be quite overwhelming. Too much stimulation either way can lead me to shut down (depressed) or hypo-manic. Hypomania seems to come on when I’m feeling very excited and happy about things. It is frustrating to me that I can’t seem to just enjoy my emotion – I have to be so careful and not let it get too high. I have to be careful not to binge eat at night when I’m tired and I hardly know what I’m doing! I would probably be better off getting into bed but I work kind of late in the evenings and feel like I need that time to unwind. Of course, I am tempted to binge eat when I’m very stressed, too.

      When I first received my dx I felt like medication did not work for me. I was about 25 at the time and had suffered mental illness since at least eleven or twelve. In the time before the dx I was given other meds that made things worse. I really hit rock bottom right before diagnosis. I had been doing things in my life that were very damaging to myself and my family. I thought since I finally, finally received the correct dx things would automatically get better – even though I had no job, had pushed away all my friends, and my relationship with my husband was a source of tremendous guilt for me (because of things I “did” to him). So I thought meds would fix all that :/ It is a mindset I developed as a kid – that I just needed to keep going, that I would find a “fix.” And I think it’s something that was instilled in me by all the medications and therapists pushed on me. Let’s take the kid here to get fixed, or there!

      Flash forward to a few years ago and I was handling things without medication. Mania has never been my biggest problem, depression has. At this point I had a job, ran all the time, was slowly making friends and ate a strict vegan diet. The running literally saved my life as my marriage started to crumble. Then I discovered my husband was having an affair – for three years. I had no choice but to go on medication or I would not been able to function. Under this severe stress is where medication really shone for me. The meds immediately changed my thinking in a good way – the obsessive thoughts didn’t stop but I feel they were at a more “normal” level. Medication allowed me to take the initiative and save my marriage. Without it, I believe my marriage would have failed because my husband certainly wasn’t highly motivated – he was very conflicted.

      I am now unsure if I will ever go off medications again. Who knows when a highly stressful event will occur in life? I want to handle it with grace – not fall on my face. I now realize this is a huge danger to bp folks. You feel better, you feel like maybe you don’t need the meds and maybe you don’t right now – but they aren’t really designed for the times you feel good. Of course I’m sure lots of people cope with stress better than me 🙂 To address your specific comments – I think probably medication will help with what you see and perceive but I don’t take anti-psychotics so I have no experience with that class of medication (I’m thinking that’s what they would want to give you). I can tell you that right now I am on lithium (mood stabilizer), lamictal (mood stabilizer), klonopin (anxiety), trazadone (anxiety/depression). These medications work fairly well at controlling my bp symptoms. I used to have spontaneous mystic states and I don’t have them anymore. But I don’t know if that’s just the meds – I am also extremely busy and focused on my master’s degree which I also started three years ago. I have found that having something in my life that demands a great deal of concentration to be very stabilizing. It helps me with my routine, it gives me a sense of accomplishment, it grounds me to a certain extent – but I think it may close me off as well. If you think of the stereotype of the uptight intellectual who thinks they know it all and is not open minded – I think I have a bit of that in me. Although I am open minded! I’m just uptight, lol!

      I know I have read in some bp books about medication for sensory defensiveness. I do not take anything to help with my sensory issues. I imagine some of those medications might be helpful as well – since you are sensing things that most people can’t/don’t want to acknowledge. I work in a library – so that eliminates most possibilities for an overload and I always try to have my earplugs handy. Sometimes at home I have to retreat to my bedroom because my thirteen year old has ADD. Do you think what you are seeing is a product of an overwrought mind or “legit” manifestations? At various times in my life I have perceived beings that seemed benign or positive – but I have also experienced what I consider hallucinations and I believe they come from my mind and images I’ve seen in horror movies. To this day I don’t take showers at night because I always used to see a bloody lady (think “carrie”) and felt like she was batting at the shower curtain as I showered. I believe at night my mind is “weaker” and more vulnerable. Do you notice places/activities/times that cause you the most grief?

      Joanna

  17. […] Submitted on 2013/04/25 at 2:50 am […]

  18. Unbelievably poignant…. First time I’ve seen a correlation between empathy and bipolar disorder. As I am just now learning about my illness…. And over-researching as we typically do, I feel that this article best describes our inexplicable need to “hide” at times. It’s not a selfish, un-caring state, it’s the need to isolate yourself from the burden of “feeling” everyone.

    • Too often, we feel selfish or out of place because society has little time or patience for people who don’t fit the mold. This puts additional stress on folks with mental illnesses or those who are just different. I’m learning that we cannot define ourselves by anything but our own authenticity. Our culture can be toxic and we should not operate under any of it’s assumptions unless they are in alignment with our needs and wants.

  19. Reblogged this on jennifervandyke and commented:
    OH WOW! This describes me here!

  20. Thank you for writing this . It was a enjoyable to read. Im also bipolar and has borderline personality disorder. I have found myself in the last two year looking more into empaths. I dont take any pills or talk to a doctor. I do smoke weed. I do my own self reflection. I was 15 when I try killing myself . Thats when we found out what was “wrong” with me. I am 20 now and all of my doctor I have talked to in the last year are impressed with how well I know myself. I dont treat my bipolar as a problem but more as a puzzle. Something I have to learn to deal with.

    • A puzzle sounds pretty accurate to me 🙂

  21. Do you have a link for this article?

    • What article are you referring to?

      • Dear Dalek (clearly you are a Dr. Who fan),

        Unfortunately, it seems to have disappeared 😦

        Sorry!
        Joanna

  22. Very interesting article.

    I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder 5 years ago. I celebrated my 20th birthday in the hospital and I wasn’t sure why I was there. I felt great 🙂 For the first time since my middle teens, I was finally feeling energetic, enthusiastic and happy. I was taking anti depressants that the doctor had given me some 2 weeks before. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder because for two weeks I was in a highly manic state, full of energy and blah blah, you know the deal about manic symptoms. But one thing for sure, I was feeling good. The best I’ve ever felt in my entire life… until now. The doctors diagnosed me that and I was relieved. Finally, I knew what my problem was. In my mind, it was okay, because since I was full of enthusiasm, I knew I could find the solution to treat it and eventually heal it.

    Anyhow, long story short, today I can comfortably state loud and clear that I am no longer suffering from any manic depressive / bipolar symptoms.

    Yes, I do remain with a highly intuitive, empathic, emotional and sensitive nature, I won’t deny that, but today, they are profound qualities I’m learning every day how to maximize.

    For example, last year, a couple of months after my own satori moment, as talked about by Eckhart Tolle, I wrote my first poetic song. That satori moment was when I healed my bipolar disorder. A sort of miracle that I don’t quite understand. I did try to explain it sometime to a friend. Anyhow, since then, I’ve written many songs. For the past month or so, I have been writing somewhat of 4-5 poems a month.

    I don’t say this to brag, I say this to illustrate that those qualities are very useful when it’s time to describe my feelings or put my subjective emotional psycho spiritual energies into words.

    I went from a college dropout, depressed and lost to an artist, I’m not saying I’m Picasso artist or Dylan artist, but I’m an artist in my own way, pace and level. I express myself creatively and my emotions are my tools of expression. What happens, is that the bipolar “mechanism” is great in that regards. I can go from pole to pole of human emotional expression. The thing is, 5 years ago, I couldn’t very well use that mechanism in the right way which was regarded as a mental illness by the medical establishment. It’s an establishment, by the way. I could go on and on about that, but that would be for another time and place.

    Now, I’ve learned to control my emotions, build my character, personality and balance my disorder thanks to a profound, wonderful and many times very painful spiritual awakening.

    I know how that sounds for some of you who are spiritually… deft. The thing is, for us highly emotional people, spirituality comes kinda naturally.

    Anyhow, I started reading books. Many books. And what happens is that today, thanks to the internet, we have easy access to all kinds of information that is very useful, and yes, very bad. This is where personal discernment is important. The truth is inside you. It’s a moral compass that is very important to be aware of. The truth, I learned from Eckhart Tolle, is felt, not thought.

    Anyhow, this is a small overview of my experience that I’d like to share with you guys to simply give you an example that you can totally and completely heal of bipolar disorder and any illness ( uuuuuuh I know, this one is a hard one to swallow :p) if given the time, patience and perseverance.

    I’ll list here a series of authors that I’ve read extensively and have helped my a lot.

    – Deepak Chopra
    – Eckhart Tolle
    – David Deida : The book The Way of the Superior Man was the one that healed me. I have come to think and know for myself that bipolar disorder is due in great part to an inability to fully integrate and manipulate in a healthy way masculine and feminine sexual energies. I cannot speak for all of you, but that is how I have come to understand my miraculous healing. Reading that book, I realized that my sexual core energies of masculine and feminine were 50 / 50. I’m very much a hetero sexual man, greatly attracted to women, but my feminine energy is completely balance with my masculine energy. In a way, that book taught me how to make those two energies dance together in the right way. The satori moment happened in november 2013. In fact, the year 2013, the year of the snake, was a very transformative year where I shed one layer of skin for a new one. 2014 was rough too, but it was a transition period of discovery as I started writing poetry and 2015 is my entry into… professional life as I am searching for a job in video production. Great stuff ain’t it ? College dropout, diagnosed, lost and confuse and now after great pains, I’m ready to face the world. Well, at my own pace at my own time 😉

    – Gregg Braden
    – Lao Tzu
    – Buddhism
    – Taoism
    – Yoga
    – Transcendental Meditation
    – Tom Campbell’s My Big TOE : if there is one book you have must to read if you wish to understand how important and crucial spirituality is for your healing proces, read this book. It is an absolute must. This dude is bridging science and spirituality. One doesn’t come without the other. If you aren’t sure about what I mean or sound skeptical, please read this book. Absolute must.
    – Nietzsche
    – Socrates, Platon
    – Napoleon Hill Think and Grow Rich : This book is also a must if you wish to understand the basis of personal growth and self-help books. If fact, Hill is the father of self help. It is in this book that I learned the basic characteristics for success of manipulating sexual energy into your thoughts. I read this book at the beginning of 2013. I found Deida’s book later in october. I had already read Eckhart Tolle’s Power of Now, My Bid Toe and many others.
    – Joe Dispenza and Evolve Your Brain : This one was very important to understand that you can heal your body with your thoughts. This book is also crucial to truly understand how the mind affects the biological body, including of course the brain’s neural connections. Very important book I highly recommend if you want important knowledge about how the brain and body work for healing purposes.
    – Cannabis oil or even smoked, DMT, Ayahuasca, Mushrooms : If you can get hold of these, please take them. With moderation, of course, but psychedelics are making a renaissance. The scientific community is catching up to the potentials of such plants.
    -The Artists Way by Julia Cameron : This book has given me the confidence and spiritual tools to use my creativity for poetry and creative expression if a more profound way. It is in great part thanks to this book that I have gained the courage and ability to write to you guys about this. And my poetry’s level increased by a notch.
    – Brian Tracy
    – Anthony Robbins
    – NLP : OMG, I cannot recommend these psychological techniques any more highly than I possibly can. CRUCIAL. Its all about the mind. Learn how to use your mind in the right way and things just improve drastically.

    This four are channeled spiritual information by ET entities. I know, I know how that sounds. Relax. ETs !!?!?!?!!?!?!?! Of course 🙂 Welcome to the new age…. bitches 😉

    – Bashar
    – Kryon
    – A Course in Miracles
    – Edgard Cayce

    Ok, that’s about it. I know it’s a lot and I know I haven’t explained everything, but nevertheless, this is a comprehensive list of all the information I needed to read and learn over the last 5 years to be able to say that I’m cured of my bipolar disorder. I’ve worked hard. Everything I am gonna be able to have from now on, is in great parts because of all that knowledge.

    All this those books are what helped me. I hope they can provide clues and guidelines for your own healing process and balancing act 😉 What I recommend you do is read your own books and by reading, making connections between all of them. What happens is that many thing that are unanswered by one book are answered by another. It becomes a cycle of discovery where one book leads to another in a synchronistic coincidental way. The truth is contained everywhere and for a damn good reason.

    Let me explain this is the clearest of ways : holy books.

    Holy books are the reason for a LOT of our world problems. I cannot emphasize this enough. The problem with such books is that the people that believe in them use them as tools to manipulate, control, subjugate and enslave people in false dogmas and erroneous practices. Sorry If I offended any religious individual. Please do know that I say it with all due respect to whom you are as a human being ❤

    The holy books have made people believe that the truth is contained only in one book. The new age spiritual mass consciousness awakening global movement (it's an actual real thing, trust me), in a way, is making sure people realize that the truth is contained everywhere. No one single book contains all the answers about all the things that you need to learn for you healing process. Okay ? It's all interconnected and it's up to you to connect the dots between all the different authors, people, life experiences and knowledge you've gained over the years.

    The healing process is greatly enhanced and facilitated if you approach this process with patience, love and perseverance. It will be long, hard and difficult, but the joy at the end of the road, which by the way never ends, is fantastic.

    Also, eat well, exercise, sleep well, have healthy sex and create.

    Seriously, I wish you luck 🙂 Hopefully some of you can continue sharing your success stories which are always very inspiring.

    • Wow! Thank you for so generously sharing all your experiences and resources. With a new baby at home, it will take me awhile to really read through and respond thoughtfully. But I wanted to at least let you know how thankful I am that you would share your thoughts!

      I cannot really comment on some of your ideas because I have never experienced some of what you describe. I found your comments on psychedelics interesting. Recently I have begun watching a documentary on Netflix about psychedelics and their capacity to help heal.

      I do believe that it’s possible for bi-polar to be cured, because “bi-polar” is a medical establishment term that does not really describe or accurately model the phenomenon. For example, we choose to see our experiences as personality traits that can become imbalanced. Or perhaps another model will be helpful. In any case, I believe it is possible to achieve balance.

      However folks choose to do that, or whatever works for them. But it is very important to recognize that the medical model is deeply flawed. In addition, our cultural norms are deeply flawed. Balancing our personalities, masculine/feminine, spiritual awakenings, requires an authenticity of self and rejection of toxic cultural values. This can be difficult to achieve and I believe this is why people reject the possibility of healing. Some feel that if they accept the possibility of healing and go off medication, it will lead to serious repercussions. And I believe this is true for some folks.

      This is because wholeness/healing is a process – one which can be compromised by unhealthy behaviors, exposure to toxins in the environment and culture, etc. Some factors are out of our control. In any case, it is always crucial to undertake our own healing paths. What worked for you may not work for me and that is the wonderful thing about discussion and the sharing of ideas. So thank you!

      • Execellent follow up! I agree completely about the need for a spiritual life minus the toxic energy and pollutants that surround us every day. I try to speak with my employer regarding the air quality in our building but my ideas and ‘sensitive personality’ are seen as character defects and have put my job in danger. Last year, I experienced a mild stroke following becoming very ill just two weeks after working in my classroom with has no windows. This has affected my speech, working memory, and my writing ability which you can probably tell. Not a trait wanted in a teacher! Thank you for sharing your insight!

        • I’m very sorry to hear about your job being in danger! I would think that as a teacher, sensitivity would be a wonderful trait. I certainly could have used some teachers with more sensitivity when I was in school. I am curious – do you teach here in the U.S.?

  23. Wow! I can’t tell you how greatful I am for finding your article! I grew up very aware of my intuitive abilities. My mother was aware by the time I was two years old. She used to play intuitive type games with me out of fascination and to see how far I could go.
    However, she and I never understood the down side to being a highly sensitive empath. I was plagued with stomach problems and nightmares. I could not bare the sight of another child or animal being hit as they both often were in public during the 70’s. At 15, I started my very long painful journey from doctor to doctor trying to understand my stomach ailments, anxiety, and depression. I have received numerous diagnosises and a full apothecary of medicines that have done a number on my digestive system as well as my ability to maintain an average weight. I have been in therapy for years and have left no stone unturned but still struggle with my emotions. My uncle has classic bipolar disorder and I have been evaluated a few times, but I have never experienced all the requirements on the checklist. I knew if I had bipolar disorder I had a different type than my uncle’s, because I never experienced mania and never experienced his delusions. However, I knew something was interfereing with my ability to feel content even though I had so much in which to be grateful.
    Fast forward to the birth of my son. Nothing could have prepared me for giving birth to a male empath. He and I had such a tight connection. He had insight in ways I never even did as a child. He is very bright and my background in art enabled me to help him nurture his creative outlets. His insight really surfaced in his drawings, poetry, and later on, his animations and photography. Despite the wonderful connection we shared and the joy I experienced watching the wise soul develop within my son, every month, he would experience a meltdown that was obviously his attempt to rid his body of the emotional build up that I now know did not even belong to him. He didn’t understand it and channelled it towards the person he trusted most, me. When it was over, he experienced confusion but also great remorse due to the obvious signs in the room as to what he had done during his meltdown. I feared he would develop enormous guilt on top of his sensitivity to the world. I did all I could to help him learn how to better deal with his emotions, but just as in the case with me, traditional therapy did not help and with him, made it worse. Puberty sent him spiraling and almost three years later, he is doing all he can to cut off his relationship with me in order to live with his dad. The pain I have experienced is indescribable. His dad told him that I was the cause of his anxiety and welcomed him in with open arms. I always encouraged an open relationship with his dad, but unfortunately, their time together was unpredictable. I allowed this temporary living arrangement to help my son and his father understand that I am not the problem in the hopes that we could put this assumption to rest and provide my son with the help he needed in dealing with his heightened sensitivity and anxiety. Five months into the arrangement, and several arguments that my ex-husband attempted to hide from me, he and my son had a violent encounter. They both lost control, but my ex-husband is the adult and bears the reaponsibilty in maintaining self-control. He contacted me to come and pick up my son and told me not to bring him back. I was devastated for my son. I did not know at the time that he had been living with highly manipulative parent alienation tactics that have left him incredibly angry, confused, and distrustful of all adults especially me. He was told for five months that I’m not emotionally stable and have taught my son to be emotionally unstable as well. He then was suddenly kicked to the curb to once again live with the ’emotionally unstable’ parent. What a message to send to your own child. The connection between autism-bipolar-empath you referred to is very real. I went back to graduate school and got my masters in special education. My son was diagnosed with sensory integration disorder which we all have to a degree but this is a very obvious characteristic in people living with autism. SID or SPD is just now receiving recognition within the medical community. Pediatric OTs have been trying to spread the word about this disorder for years. Many still believed this disorder only exist within people with autism. While I knew my son and I both were highly sensitive to our environment and both experienced strong intuition about others, I did not even know the term empath until a few months ago. I now know that we still suffer because we are constantly taking on the emotions of others. This has taken its toll on us both but it’s even harder now that my son barely speaks to me despite living under the same roof. He no longer dmgages in the creative outlets he once loved, he is now failing classes after making straights A’s for almost 8 years, and has attempted suicide once.
    I desperately need to find a therapist that specializes in parental alienation as well as sensory integration disorder and has an understanding of the needs of empaths. Your article has offered me a place to start! Thank you so very much for sharing your story and offering new very promising information!!

  24. Thank you for this. I have been through a lifetime of trauma. I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder at the age of 38. I am now 44 and had a spiritual enlightenment very suddenly a month and a half ago. I have always been a very intuitive person as well as an empath but after the awakening, I have been experiencing some very strange things that make me feel like I am losing it at times. I figured out that I am in the ascension process! It’s beautiful and uncomfortable at the same time. I know what is happening to me but my psychiatrist and therapist think I am delusional. It is very, very sad to me that “Spiritual Competency” is no longer in the DSM. It is very important that people like myself receive a proper diagnosis. I am NOT bipolar and never have been. I believe there are many natural methods and treatments such as yoga, acupuncture, vitamins B6, B12 and many other things to help this process that EVERYONE will eventually go through in some form. I am about to read a book by Dr. Stanislov Groff called Spiritual Emergency. I hope it will give me more insight. Its just such a shame that so many people are being misinformed by these so called professionals. Thank you again for I am so happy that I ran across this blog.

    If anyone is going through what I am and would like to talk, please let me know as I have just begun the integration process. Please no offense but I would rather not deal with a medium as of yet. I don’t know a lot about it. Thanks for understanding.

    Peace, Light and Blessings!!

    Lana J.

  25. Beautifully written! I am also an empath and have bipolar1 with psychotic features. I get sick from too many strong emotional interactions and very few men understand men like this. We are misunderstood and I get tired of being altruistic hearted and feeling for even the worst of sociopaths. I take a reprieve and snap…increase my meds etc. The mind can only deal with so much emotion. I don’t see it as some jedi skill. I see it as evolutionary…people like us protect the weak and see the wolves pretty quick. I was also blissful until puberty. I think the brain changes then many times and depression can come when your sensitive to the plentiful suffering out there.

  26. Reblogged this on Silver Girl.


Leave a Reply

Categories

